The Ups from the Underground

Zion I-The Takeover Album Review and Download

Zion I-The Takeover

Zion I-The Takeover

Download Album: Zion I – The Takeover

Artist: Zion-I
Album: The Takeover
Label: Gold Dust
Release Date: February 17, 2009

For the past decade, underground crusaders Zumbi and Amp Live (collectively Zion-I) have been producing superior music out of the Bay Area. The Takeover is the duo’s sixth album and they have shown with each that they just keep getting better with age. Zumbi’s spiritual poetry laid out over Amp’s electro bumping epic beats will leave you feeling high all day. Zion-I is a pure example of “if they ain’t gonna give it to you, then take it”. The Takeover has solidified these two as true forces in the genre today and should be labeled under: what’s good with hip hop. Making cameo’s on the album are Brother Ali, Devin the Dude, K.Flay and Ty & Jennifer Johns. While they do contribute to the success of the album, Amp and Zumbi need no one to piggy back for them. They’ve produced another solid album, and it’s to be expected their next effort will once again show growth in the many angles of well-being.

Track Listing:

  1. The Taking
  2. Geek To The Beat
  3. Take Over
  4. DJ DJ
  5. Antenna
  6. Caged Bird Part 1 ft. Brother Ali
  7. In The Mornin’ ( Caged Bird Part 2)
  8. Radio
  9. Gumbo
  10. Country Baked Yams ft. Devin The Dude
  11. Coastin’ ft. K.Flay
  12. Juicy Juice
  13. Peppermint Patty
  14. Bring in the Light
  15. Legacy ft. Ty and Jennifer Johns


3 Must Listen Tracks:

  1. DJ DJ
  2. Antenna
  3. Coastin’

Overall Rating: 4.25 / 5

Coastin video:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.