The Ups from the Underground

Non-Prophets (Sage Francis & Joe Beats) Hope Album Review

Non-Prophets (Sage Francis & Joe Beats) Hope Album Cover

Non-Prophets (Sage Francis & Joe Beats) Hope Album Cover

Artist: Non-Prophets (Sage Francis & Joe Beats)
Album: Hope
Label: Lex Records
Release Date: October 7, 2003

Sage Francis and Joey Beats released a classic album with Hope back in 2003. Every single track stands alone as an impressive opus of words vs instruments. Sage is a lyrical warrior when it comes to dissecting American culture. From hip hop to politics, from sports to unhealthy habits, from social stratification to religion, he seems to have something to say about everything. And he says it well. Mixing a strong voice with clever timing and punctual comedic relief when needed, Sage shines brighter on this album than any other. Joey Beats produced the album, and it is clear he also has a handle on how to make dope music.  It is not a well known album and is hard to find outside of purchasing it from one of the websites listed below. But trust me, you’ll regret not listening to this album. The web page for this album has 25 customer reviews. 21 rated it 5/5, and the other 4 gave it a 4/5. This is that classic masterpiece that you’ve never heard of.

Track Listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Any Port
  3. Damage
  4. That Ain’t Right
  5. Disasters
  6. Fresh
  7. Mainstream 307
  8. A Mill
  9. Spaceman
  10. Xaul Zan’s Heart
  11. New Word Order
  12. Tolerance Level
  13. The Cure
  14. Outro (Bounce)

3 Must Listen Tracks:

  1. Any Port
  2. Mainstream 307
  3. Xaul Zan’s Heart

Overall Rating: 5 / 5


The Cure:


Tolerance Level:

Mainstream 307:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Tagged as: , , , , , ,



  1. The Tones-Dreamtalk Album Review and Download | Hip Hop Ups
  2. Sleep-Hesitation Wounds Album Review and Download | Hip Hop Ups

Leave a Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.