The Ups from the Underground

Def Jux-Def Jux Presents Vol. 4 Album Review and Download

Def Jux Presents Vol 4 Album Cover

Def Jux Presents Vol 4 Album Cover

Download Album: Def Jux Presents Vol. 4

Artist: Various Def Jux Artists
Album: Def Jux Presents, Vol. 4
Label: Definitive Jux
Release Date: September 1, 2009

The crew over at Def Jux has dropped another collaboration album with tracks from the members across the label.  New group efforts by the Weatherman and Hail Mary Mallon, along with up and coming Despot highlight this release. The Cage track rivals anything that was on the “Depart From Me” album he just recently released. This fourth volume has a bit of a different sound than the prior three, and though it isnt as good as Def Jux Presents, Vol. 3, it’s still a wildly entertaining album. A preview of projects to come, these type of label releases are always worth listening to, giving us a glimpse of where the individual artists are heading in their growth.

Track Listing:

  1. Weathermen (Aesop Rock, El-P and Cage) – ‘Reports of a Possible Kidnapping’
  2. Camu Tao – ‘When You’re Going Down’
  3. Despot – ‘Look Alive’
  4. Cage – ‘Worm In Her Vein’
  5. Yak Ballz – ‘Gas Galaxy’
  6. Mr. Lif – ‘Digi Data’ (feat. Miz Metro)
  7. Hail Mary Mallon (Aesop Rock, Rob Sonic, DJ Big Wiz) – ‘D-Up’
  8. Central Services – ‘We Do The Work, You Do The Pleasure’
  9. Rob Sonic – ‘Domestic Animals’
  10. Yak Ballz – ‘Halogen Glow’
  11. Chin Chin – ‘Live Or Die’
  12. El-P – ‘How To Serve Man (The Meanest Things I’d Never Say)’

3 Must Listen Tracks:

  1. Look Alive
  2. Worm In Her Vein
  3. How To Serve Man

Overall Rating: 3.5 / 5

Hail Mary Mallon “D-Up” video:

Despot “Look Alive” video:


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Tagged as: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.