The Ups from the Underground

Blockhead | The Music Scene | Album Download & Review

Blockhead|The Music Scene Album

Blockhead|The Music Scene Album

Blockhead|The Music Scene Free Download

Artist: Blockhead
Album: The Music Scene
Label: Ninja Tune
Release Date: Digital November 3, 2009
                         CD/Vinyl January 12, 2010

To simply state that Blockhead is cutting edge would be an injustice. His creations take you straight off the edge, down through the rabbit hole, floating into a front row seat where this Mad Hatter is conducting the greatest sound you can ever imagine. Mozart wears Blockhead pajamas to bed at night. This shit would make Buddha turn it up and commence an enlightened boogie. His production has an amazing blend of intricate and diverse tempos that can contrast and compliment, seemingly gaining in pure growth throughout the duration of each track. Just when you think you are hearing the climax of the sound, in comes another side beat, an additional instrument or off the wall vocal sample (which come from all ranges of language, many being distorted, slowed down, sped up, or even at times reversed). The format of this album seems to have similarities with a movie score or soundtrack, often inducing your imagination to create a visual sideshow. Based out of Manhattan, Blockhead (aka Tony Simon) is also commonly known for being Aesop Rock’s partner in crime, having produced many of his legendary tracks, such as Daylight and None Shall Pass. The Music Scene is his fourth full length LP, having previously released Music By Cavelight, Downtown Science, and Uncle Tony’s Coloring Book (all on the London-based Ninja Tune label). He also has a blog on DefJux (link provided below) titled “Sweeping Generalizations”. Be sure to read it, he is multi-talented and his anecdotal meanderings provide heavy comedic relief.

Track Listing:
1. It’s Raining Clouds
2. The Music Scene
3. Only Sequences Change
4. Which One Of You Jerks Drank My Arnold Palmer
5. Attack The Doctor
6. The Prettiest Sea Slug
7. The Daily Routine
8. Tricky Turtle
9. Four Walls
10. Pity Party
11. Hell Camp
12. Farewell Spaceman
It’s Raining Clouds:

Four Walls:

3 Must Listen Tracks:
1. It’s Raining Clouds
2. Four Walls
3. Hell Camp
Overall Rating: 4.75 / 5 (this rating is to be applied in the context that his future releases will continuously gain in quality and make breakthroughs in sound innovation)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 4.8/5 (4 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Blockhead | The Music Scene | Album Download & Review, 4.8 out of 5 based on 4 ratings
Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.